Department of Electoral Cooperation and Observation
jQuery Superfish dropdown menu example with full touch support for Android, iOS and Windows 8.
Guyana General and Regional Election on May 11, 2015
Political System

The Republic of Guyana is an independent semi-presidential parliamentary republic that is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations and the Caribbean Community. Guyana gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1966, and held its first election deemed clean and competitive by the international community in 1992.

Executive Branch
The Chief of State is President Donald R. Ramotar (since December 3, 2011). The Head of Government is Prime Minister Samuel Hinds (since October 1992). The President appoints and supervises the Prime Minister as well as the rest of the Cabinet. The Prime Minister and the Ministers are required to be members of the Assembly.

Legislative Branch
Guyana operates with a unicameral National Assembly of 65 popularly elected members, who each serve five -year terms. Additionally, there are five non-elected members: three non-elected ministers, one non-elected parliamentary secretary and the Speaker. The assembly thus may contain up to 72 members. The President has the authority to dissolve the Assembly.

Judicial Branch
The Judicial branch is composed of a Supreme Court of Judicature, consisting of the High Court of Appeal, with right of final appeal to the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ).