Department of Electoral Cooperation and Observation
jQuery Superfish dropdown menu example with full touch support for Android, iOS and Windows 8.
St Kitts and Nevis - General Elections on February 16, 2015
Political System
The Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis is a constitutional parliamentary democracy that operates on the Westminster model. As a member of the Commonwealth of Nations, the nominal head of state is Queen Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom, who is represented in the Federation by the Governor-General. Though the head of government is the Prime Minister, the Governor-General is formally responsible for appointing the Prime Minister, the Deputy Prime Minister, other ministers of the government, the leader of the Opposition in Parliament, and members of the Public Service and Police Service Commissions.

The Head of the Government is Prime Minister Denzil Douglas, who was first elected in 1995.

On the federal level, St. Kitts & Nevis operates with a unicameral parliament, known as the National Assembly. Since 1984, this body has been composed of 11 elected representatives and three appointed senators. All legislators serve five-year terms.