Executive Secretariat for Integral Development (SEDI)

Protocol of San Salvador

The PSS is the additional protocol to the American Convention on Human Rights to ensure Economic Social and Cultural Rights (ESCR). It was adopted in 1988 and entered into force in 1999. The Protocol of San Salvador (PSS) has been signed by 19 states and ratified by 16: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname and Uruguay.  

According to article 19, the PSS includes a follow-up mechanism: a system of periodic reports through which the State Parties communicate the progressive measures they have taken to ensure due respect for the rights under the PSS.  

The main objective of the Technical Secretariat within the DIS is to provide support to the Working Group (WG) for the analysis of the national reports under the PSS, and to promote economic, social and cultural rights in the region.  


• Provide fundamental technical secretariat services to the Working Group in its work. • Promote the economic, social and cultural rights (ESCR) as part of the equity agenda.

• Encourage the development of progress indicators as useful tools for the design and evaluation of public policy.

• Organize training activities regarding the progress indicators for the measurements of rights foreseen in the PSS.

Read the PSS: http://www.oas.org/juridico/english/treaties/a-52.html