Executive Secretariat for Integral Development (SEDI)

Summit of the Americas

The Summits of the Americas bring together the democratically elected Heads of State and Government of the Western Hemisphere to discuss common concerns, develop a shared vision for the future development of the region, and seek solutions to problems and challenges confronting their countries, be they economic, social or political in nature.

As a common experience of the American continent, commitment to migration issues has been affirmed and reaffirmed since the 2nd Summit of the Americas. Below are the commitments made by the Heads of State of the Americas to Migration:

5th Summit of the Americas, Trinidad, 2008

Declaration of Commitment of Port of Spain

4th Summit of the Americas, Argentina, 2005

Declaration of Mar del Plata

3rd Summit of the Americas, Canada, 2001

Declaration of Quebec City

2nd Summit of the Americas, Chile, 1998

Declaration of Santiago

To find out more about the Summit Process, please click here.