Protocol of San Salvador

Back-Buttom Back to DSI   Print-Buttom  Print

About Protocol of San Salvador

The PSS is the additional protocol to the American Convention on Human Rights to ensure Economic Social and Cultural Rights (DESC). It was adopted in 1988 and entered into force in 1999. The PSS has been signed by 19 states and ratified by 16: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname and Uruguay.

Grupo de Trabajo  Working Group
Documentos Documents
Sociedad Civil Civil Society
Sociedad Civil  Progress Indicators
Sociedad Civil Resources

Progress in the Implementation of the PSS Mechanisms

»  Report II
»  Report I

Follow up

Pursuant to the provisions of the Article 19 and the corresponding rules to be formulated for this purpose by the General Assembly of the Organization of American States, the States Parties to this Protocol undertake to submit periodic reports on the progressive measures they have taken to ensure due respect for the rights set forth in this Protocol.

Since 2004, the General Assembly issued resolutions, in order to ensure compliance with Article 19 of the Protocol of San Salvador, through the following mandates: 



.:: About SEDI :: Media Center :: Publications ::.

© SEDI Communications. 2015