Media Center

Press Release

OAS and Mexico Announce Names of CONACYT-OAS-AMEXCID Scholarship Recipients

  July 2, 2014

The Organization of American States (OAS), together with the National Council on Science and Technology of Mexico (CONACYT) and the Mexican Agency for International Cooperation and Development (AMEXCID), this week announced the names of the recipients of 58 scholarships in Science and Technology for doctoral, Master’s, and specialized studies in Mexico.

The recipients are 58 citizens of 14 member states of the OAS, who will receive some of the following benefits: a monthly stipend, local medical insurance, a relocation allowance, the possibility of study outside Mexico, and the possibility of a partial or total discount on tuition at Universities that form part of the OAS Consortium.

The scholarships were assigned at a meeting of the CONACYT-OEA-AMEXCID Scholarship Assignment Committee 2014, which included the participation of representatives of CONACYT, of AMEXCID, of the Permanent Mission of Mexico to the OAS, the Department of Economic and Social Development of the OAS, and the Department of Human Development, Education and Employment of the OAS. This was the first meeting of the Committee this year, and the next will take place in November 2014.

The Academic Scholarship Program of the Organization of American States, established in 1958, grants scholarships to people from the OAS member states who wish to engage in undergraduate or graduate level studies. The scholarships are granted by the Department of Human Development, Education and Employment of the OAS for on site studies and for distance education at a university or institution of higher learning in an OAS member country.

The complete list of scholarship recipients can be found here.

For more information, please visit the OAS Website at

Reference: E-283/14