Media Center

Press Release

OAS Supports Paraguay in Development of its National Cyber Security Plan

  May 6, 2015

The General Secretariat of the Organization of American States (OAS), in cooperation with the National Ministry of Information and Communication Technology (SENATICs) and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Paraguay, inaugurated on Tuesday, May 5 the National Technical Assistance Mission, aimed at the development of a National Cyber Security Strategy in the South American country.

Representatives of the General Secretariat of the OAS, experts from the Cyber Security Institute of Spain (INCIBE) and representatives of the Community of High Level Domains in the region, specifically Colombia (.co), will work together with actors from different sectors in Paraguay to define priorities for cyber security in the country and generate an appropriate proposal, which will be studied by the authorities of the Paraguayan government.

The OAS Secretary General, José Miguel Insulza, recognized that the government of Paraguay has made important efforts to promote cyber security in the region, and stressed that the support that the OAS provides in this area to the South American country began after the meeting between Minister David Ocampos, head of SENATICS, and Ambassador Elisa Ruiz Díaz Bareiro, Permanent Representative of Paraguay to the Organization. The leader of the Organization urged the authorities of the government of Paraguay to advance the process of developing this strategy, and to consider allocating the financial and human resources necessary for its implementation.

For his part, Minister David Ocampos recalled that Paraguay currently holds the Chair of the Inter-American Committee against Terrorism (CICTE), and that the Cyber Security Program has provided unconditional support over the past years in terms of training and awareness in the country. He added that he planned to request the support of the CICTE Secretariat for the implementation of technical activities for the benefit of the country. Minister Ocampos also said his country has been invited to participate in the Budapest Convention, the first international treaty that seeks to address internet and computer crime, in recognition of the efforts that both SENATICS, prosecutors, the Foreign Ministry and other institutions have made in this area.

In addition to its work in Paraguay, the OAS has collaborated with Colombia, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica to develop and adopt national strategies for cyber security and maintains an ongoing process with Costa Rica, Dominica, Peru and Suriname. This support is made possible by the generous contributions to the Cyber Security Program of the OAS by the governments of Canada, the United States, Estonia and the United Kingdom.

For more information, please visit the OAS Website at

Reference: E-169/15