Media Center

Press Advisory


OAS Hosts Presentation by the U.S. Secretary of State on “The United States and Latin America: The Power of Partnership”

  November 16, 2013

The Organization of American States (OAS) will be the setting, on November 18 at 11:00 EST (16:00 GMT), for a presentation by the Secretary of State of the United States, John Kerry, entitled “The United States and Latin America: A Relationship of Partners.” The conference will be organized jointly with the Inter-American Dialogue, and will take place in the Hall of the Americas.

The Secretary General of the OAS, José Miguel Insulza, will offer the welcoming remarks to the event, in which Michael Shifter, President of the Inter-American Dialogue, will also participate.

For reasons of space and security, journalists who wish to cover the event are asked to confirm their attendance in advance to oaspress@oas.org.

Journalists should enter the OAS building through the side entrance, located on C Street, between 17th and 18th Streets, and present a photo identification which verifies their employment with a media entity. Video cameras should arrive before 10:00 EST (15:00 GMT) and access for journalists will be closed at 10:30 EST (15:30 GMT).

The meeting will be broadcast live on the OAS Website.

WHAT: Presentation by the U.S. Secretary of State “The United States and Latin America: A Relationship of Partners”

WHEN: Monday, November 18, at 11:00 EST (16:00 GMT)

WHERE: Hall of the Americas
Organization of American States
17th Street & Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006

Reference: AVI-274/13