Media Center


Antigua and Barbuda assumes Chair of the Permanent Council

  October 24, 2023

Antigua and Barbuda assumes Chair of the Permanent Council
Photo: OAS

The Permanent Representative of Antigua and Barbuda to the Organization of American States (OAS), Sir Ronald Sanders, today assumed the Chair of the Permanent Council until December 31, 2023.

At a ceremony held at OAS Headquarters in Washington, DC, Ambassador Sanders highlighted how the periodic change of Chair symbolizes the team work among Member States to achieve common goals. “Every person who chairs the Permanent Council brings special, different qualities to that task. But the objective is the same: to try to make the work as smooth as possible, as non-contentious as possible and to build as much consensus as possible,” he said.

Antigua and Barbuda takes office from outgoing Chair and Permanent Representative of Jamaica to the OAS, Audrey Marks. In her absence, the transfer was made official by the outgoing Vice Chair and Ambassador of Honduras, Roberto Quesada. Incoming Vice Chair is the Ambassador of Haiti, Leon Charles. Both terms will expire on December 31.

The Chair of the Permanent Council rotates every three months among the member states of the Organization, in alphabetical order. The Vice Chair also rotates every three months, but in reverse alphabetical order.

Reference: FNE-143689