Media Center

Press Advisory


Third Round of Sessions to Analyze if the Situation in Venezuela Warrants Referral to the International Criminal Court (ICC)

  November 14, 2017

On Thursday, November 16 at 11:00 EST (16:00 GMT) and at 14:30 EST (19:30 GMT) two public sessions at the headquarters of the Organization of American States (OAS) will be held to consider if the situation in Venezuela should be submitted to the International Criminal Court (ICC) for independent criminal investigation.

On November 16, the Independent Panel of International Experts will hear the presentations of victims and other relevant and interested actors in the sessions on the situation in Venezuela.

The Independent Panel of International Experts is composed of former judge of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights, Manuel Ventura Robles (Costa Rica), the Secretary of Human Rights for the province of Buenos Aires and former Executive Secretary for the Inter-American Commission of Human Rights (CIDH),Santiago Cantón (Argentina); and the President of the Raoul Wallenberg Center for Human Rights and former Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada Irwin Cotler (Canada).

Due to space limitations, access to the room will be by invitation. The hearings will be broadcast live through the OAS Website and the OAS Facebook page.

More info on the sessions available here.

Press Contact: Mónica Reyes (MReyes@oas.org)

WHAT: Sessions to Analyze if the Situation in Venezuela Warrants Referral to the ICC for Investigation

WHEN: Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 11:00 EST (16:00 GMT) and at 14:30 EST (19:30 GMT)

WHERE: OAS Headquarters, Washington DC

Reference: AVI-165/17