Press Release

IACHR Holds Extraordinary Period of Sessions in Mexico

July 9, 2014

Washington, D.C. - The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) announces its 152nd Extraordinary Period of Sessions will be held in Mexico City from August 11 to 15, 2014, at the invitation of the Mexican State.

During the sessions, the IACHR will hold hearings during the mornings of August 12, 13 and 14. Pursuant to Article 61 of its Rules of Procedure, the Commission has decided to convene hearings on its own initiative, on the general situation of human rights in Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama.

The IACHR has invited the States in question to present information with respect to these matters, and is interested in receiving information from civil society organizations as well. Organizations who wish to be considered by the IACHR to participate in these hearings must register by completing the electronic form available at /forms/TakeSurvey.aspx?SurveyID=780H372 before the end of the day on July 13, 2014. The IACHR will communicate the result of its selection to all registered organizations.

The Inter-American Commission holds several periods of sessions every year at its headquarters. Since the year 2006, three annual sessions are held, generally in March, July and October. In addition, when a State sends an invitation, the IACHR holds extraordinary periods of sessions, such as those held in Guatemala in 2006 and in Paraguay in 2007. The Commission thanks the State of Mexico its invitation to hold sessions in that country. The IACHR expresses its willingness to conduct periods of sessions outside of its headquarters at the invitation of a country member of the Organization of American States (OAS).

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this matter. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in a personal capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 73/14