Department of Electoral Cooperation and Observation

Quick Facts - EOM Electoral Observation Mission in Nevis - July 11, 2011

On July 11, 2011, voters will elect 5 members of the Nevis Island Assembly, an 8-member body charged with regulating local affairs.

All persons aged 18 years or older who are either citizens of St. Kitts & Nevis or Commonwealth citizens who have resided in the country for at least one year are eligible to vote.  Electoral legislation stipulates that a voter must register in the constituency where he or she claims “domicile”, meaning essentially any place with which a voter can claim association.

The Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis is an independent Commonwealth realm with the Queen of England as its head of state, represented by a Governor-General, who acts on the advice of the Prime Minister and the Cabinet. The prime minister is the leader of the majority party of the House, and the cabinet conducts affairs of state.

St. Kitts and Nevis has a unicameral legislature, known as the National Assembly. It is composed of fourteen members: eleven elected Representatives (three from the island of Nevis) and three Senators who are appointed by the Governor-General.

The island of Nevis elects representatives both to the National Assembly and to the separate 8-member body (five elected, three appointed), the Nevis Island Assembly. The Nevis Premier is in charge of the Executive branch of the local government. The Nevis Island Assembly is subordinate to the National Assembly only with regard to external affairs and defense and in cases where similar but not identical legislation is passed.

  1. Nevis Reformation Party
  2. Concerned Citizens Movement


Territorial Division
The island of Nevis is divided into five constituencies:  St. John, St. Thomas, St. James, St Paul and St. George.

The population of the federation of St. Kitts & Nevis is 50,314, of which Nevis Island makes up approximately 12,000.

Anglican, other Protestant, Roman Catholic

English (official)