Press Release

IACHR Arrives at the Venezuelan –Colombian Border to Meet with Victims of Human Rights Violations in Venezuela

February 5, 2020

   Related links

   Contact info

IACHR Press Office
[email protected]

   More on the IACHR
A+ A-

Washington, D.C. - The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) has announced that, in view of the fact that its delegation was prevented from entering Venezuela, it will meet with victims of human rights violations and their families and Venezuelan and Colombian civil society organizations in Bogotá and Cúcuta, on the border between Colombia and Venezuela, on February 5, 6, and 7.

On Wednesday 5, there will be a plenary session with victims who are in Bogotá. On Thursday, February 6, from 2 PM to 6 PM, the IACHR will hold an open plenary meeting in Cúcuta with people from the Venezuelan diaspora, victims of human rights violations in Venezuela, and civil society in general. People who are interested in taking part in the meeting can request to do so through this link: Open Plenary Session with Civil Society on Human Rights in Venezuela: Cúcuta, Colombia. You can download the full agenda for the visit here (link in Spanish).

On February 6 and 7, between 9 AM and 6 PM, the IACHR's technical team will be hearing testimonies from victims of the grave human rights violations that have been taking place in Venezuela and their families at the Ombud’s Office in Cúcuta, which is located at Calle 16 No.3-03, Barrio La Playa, Cúcuta, Colombia. The IACHR will still be receiving complaints and requests for precautionary measures through the usual channels, the fastest of which is the petition system, which is available on the IACHR website.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for and to defend human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 021/20