Press Release

IACHR Is Accepting Requests for Hearings for its 167th Sessions

November 22, 2017

   Related links
   Contact info

IACHR Press and Communication Office
Tel: +1 (202) 370-9000
[email protected]

   More on the IACHR
A+ A-

Washington, D.C. - The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) will hold its 167th session in Bogota, from February 22 to March 2, 2018, at the invitation of the State of Colombia. Starting today, the IACHR will receive requests for hearings and working meetings. All requests must be submitted via the system available on the IACHR website. The system is open starting today until 11:59 p.m. EST on December 6, 2017.

The IACHR will receive requests for hearings and working meetings on any member country of the Organization of American States (OAS), except Colombia. This system is the only means to submit these requests, and it is available in the four official languages of the OAS: Spanish, English, Portuguese and French.

The Inter-American Commission holds several sessions a year. IACHR sessions have become forums that bring together hundreds of human rights defenders from the region, as well as State delegations made up of high-level human rights officials, among others.

The IACHR thanks the State of Colombia for the invitation for inviting the Commission to hold sessions in its jurisdiction. The policy of holding Periods of Sessions outside headquarters, in the Member States, contributes to the democratization of the access to the Inter-American Human Rights System, enables a deeper contact with victims of human rights violations and their families, and expands the public presence of the IACHR in the region.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for and to defend human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 190/17