Press Release

IACHR Gratefully Recognizes the Work of Catalina Botero as Special Rapporteur for Freedom of Expression

October 3, 2014

Washington, D.C. – On October 5th, 2014 Catalina Botero finalizes her mandate as Special Rapporteur for Freedom of Expression of the Inter-American Commssion on Human Rights (IACHR).  The colombian lawyer was appointed on July 21st, 2008 for a three-year mandate, which was renewed once for the same period of time, according to the IACHR’s Rules of Procedure. The uruguayan lawyer and journalist Edison Lanza will take the position as Special Rapporteur on October 6th.

The Inter-American Commission takes this opportunity to recognize and support Catalina Botero’s outstanding work as Rapporteur for Freedom of Expression during the time she held the position, as well as the work of team of the Office of the Special Rapporteur under her management.

The Commission recognizes that, under Catalina Botero’s leadership, the Office of the Special Rapporteur made substantial progress to strengthen the right to freedom of expression in the inter-American legal framework. Her mandate was marked by significant accomplishments in the development of inter-American standards on this issue, by the promotion of their implementation in national law and by strengthening the capacity of States and civil society in promoting the exercise and scope of the right to freedom of expression.

IACHR’s President Commissioner Tracy Robinson highlighted Catalina Botero’s tenure and noted that “her work has advanced the thematic work of the Commission in relation to freedom of expression and it is very much a tribute to the effectiveness of that Special Rapporteurship that the Commission also considers it useful to create a new Rapporteurship on economic, social and cultural rights”.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence

No. 111/14