IACHR Announces Calendar of Ordinary Periods of Sessions for 2021

January 5, 2021

Related links

Contact info

IACHR Press Office

[email protected]

Distribution List

Subscribe to our distribution list

Washington, D.C. - The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) announced the dates on which its Ordinary Periods of Sessions will be held in 2021.

As has already been announced, the 179th Ordinary Period of Sessions will take place between March 15 and 26, 2021, using an online format due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The 180th Period of Sessions will take place from June 21 to July 23; the 18st Period of Sessions from October 18 to 29; and the 182nd Period of Sessions from December 6 to December 17, 2021.

The format and venue for these periods of sessions will be announced in due course depending on how the COVID-19 pandemic evolves: the IACHR has adopted an online format to comply with its mandates and functions while responding to the seriousness of the situation in the Americas and the rest of world as a result of the effects the pandemic has had on the health of thousands of people.

The IACHR’s aims in publishing this calendar are to inform the inter-American community of its workspaces and agendas and invite people to participate strategically in its activities. The IACHR is continuing to pursue an agenda for constructive dialogue with states and civil society in the region by contributing efficiently and strategically to the process of defending and guaranteeing human rights in the Americas.

Other activities that the IACHR will carry out as part of its mandate will be announced in due course. The calendar of activities for 2021 also includes opportunities for dialogue with States and civil society.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for and to defend human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 001/21