Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser

May 2022

Celebration of the 100th Regular Session
of the Inter-American Juridical Committee

Celebration of the 100th Regular Session of the Inter-American Juridical Committee

The Inter-American Juridical Committee (CJI) opened its 100th regular session, which will continue through to Friday, May 6, 2022, in Lima, Perú, at the invitation of the Government of Peru.

The inaugural session of the CJI took place on Tuesday, May 3 in the Palacio Torre Tagle, with a message from the Secretary General of the Organization of American States, Mr. Luis Almagro, attended by the Peruvian Minister for Foreign Affairs Dr. César Landa, the President of the CJI, Dr. Luis García-Corrochano Moyano, the Secretary for Legal Affairs, Dr. Jean-Michel Arrighi, and the Representative of the Office of the General Secretariat of the OAS in Peru, Dr. Miguel Trinidad, as well as high-ranking dignitaries of Peru and Ambassadors of member States to the OAS.

The issues that will be addressed by the CJI during this Session include: contracts between merchants with a contractual weak party; the new technologies and their importance in international juridical cooperation; the right to education; international principles on neuro rights; guide on the law applicable to foreign investments; development of Inter-American principles for the legal framework for the creation, operation, financing, and dissolution of non-profit civil international customary law in the context of the American continent; entities; the inviolability of diplomatic offices as a principle of international affairs and their relationship to the institution of diplomatic asylum; and the development of Inter-American guidelines on the participation of victims in criminal lawsuits against acts of corruption.

Furthermore, during its regular period of sessions, the CJI has planned a meeting with leading professors of Public and Private International Law.

The Committee consists of eleven jurists from the Member States elected by the General Assembly for a period of four years: Luis García-Corrochano Moyano (Chair, Peru); José Antonio Moreno Rodríguez (Deputy Chair, Paraguay); Mariana Salazar Albornoz (Mexico); George Rodrigo Bandeira Galindo (Brazil); Eric P. Rudge (Surinam); Ramiro Gastón Orias Arredondo (Bolivia); Luis Moreno Guerra (Ecuador); Marta Luna Véliz (Panama); Ruth Stella Correa Palacio (Colombia); Stephen Larson (United States), and Cecilia Fresnedo de Aguirre (Uruguay).

The Department of International Law of the Secretariat for Legal Affairs provides technical support and secretariat services to the CJI.

The CJI is the advisory body of the OAS in legal matters and its main function is to promote the progressive development and codification of international law.

» For further information on the Inter-American Juridical Committee, please visit our website.


Suscribe | Unsubscribe | Suggestions | Archive | DIL Site | OAS Site | Contact Us

Unless otherwise indicated, the materials published on this website, including opinions expressed therein, are the responsibility of the individual authors/compilers and not those of the Organization of American States (OAS), or its Member States.

© 2022 Department of International Law, Organization of American States. All rights reserved.
19th St. & Constitution Ave. NW, Washington DC 20006 USA