Rural Women's Alliance: Empowering Rural Women through ICT​

  • 25 August 2021

The objective of this initiative is to encourage the adoption of specific actions to improve connectivity of rural areas an achieve the developmenty of digital services and capabilities that would facilitate their use of ICTS, thus reducing the digital gap.

Signatories of the Alliance

Mar del Plata, 17 December 2018:
Argentina | Canada | Colombia | Costa Rica | El Salvador | Estados Unidos de América | México | Paraguay | CCAT LAT| CITEL | COMTELCA | GSMA | Internet Society | VIASAT |

Lima, 1 May 2019:
Brazil | Dominican Republic | Ecuador | Peru | ITU | Hispasat/Hispamar | OneWeb |

Cordoba, 2 July 2019:
ASIET | Telefonica | WebFoundation |​

Asunción, 1 Octubre 2019:
American Tower Corporation | Cabase | Copaco | Facebook | Huawei | Uruguay |

Febrero 2020:
CITIC - Ecuador

Forum on Advances of the Rural Women ICT Alliance

Draft Agenda (Updated: September 30, 2020)
09:45 - 10:00 Registration of participants and testing the videoconferencing platform
10:00 - 10:05 Welcome and introduction to the forum
Oscar León, Executive Secretary of CITEL
10:05 - 10:15 Opening remarks
His Excellency Carlos Alberto RAIMUNDI, Argentina’s Ambassador to the OAS -Confirmed
10:15 - 10:25 Presentation of the Rural Women’s ICT Alliance: Empowering Rural Women through ICTs
Mr. Claudio Ambrosini, Chair of COM/CITEL (ENACON, Argentina) - Confirmed
10:25 - 10:30 Welcome to new members of the Rural Women’s ICT Alliance
CITIC - Ecuador
10:30 - 12:00 Initiatives, projects, experiences, and testimonies

Maria Celeste Fuenmayor, Telecommunication Specialist, CITEL

Costa Rica: Jannixia Villalobos Vindas, Director of Social Appropriation, Miinistry of Science, Technology and Telecommunications of Costa Rica (MICITT) - Confirmed
Paraguay: Nilda Romero, Minister of Women, Paraguay & Maria Angelica Cano, Advisor to the President of CONATEL Paraguay - Confirmed
Peru: Virginia Nakagawa, Vice-Minister of Communications, Peru - Confirmed
Uruguay: Mercedes Aramendía, President, Unidad Reguladora de Servicios de Comunicaciones (URSEC) - Confirmed
Dominican Republic: Julissa Cruz, Director, Instituto Dominicano de las Telecomunicaciones (INDOTEL) - Confirmed
Canada: Santiago Reyes-Borda - Senior Policy Advisor - International Affairs, Innovation, Science and Economic Development / Government of Canada Confirmed

Facebook: Aline Mourao, Public Policy Manager Confirmed
Telefónica​: Ximena Gil Hidalgo, Líder de Sostenibilidad de Telefónica Perú Confirmed
Hispamar/Hispasat: Clovis Baptista, Chairman of the Board - Confirmed
American Tower Corporation: Jonathan Thienemann, Director, Public Affairs, Latin America - Confirmed
Copaco: Sante Vallese, Presidente, Copaco - Paraguay - Confirmed
Viasat: Ryan Johnson, Senior Director, Global Market Access & Government Affairs - Confirmed

Web Foundation: Sonia Jorge, Executive Director, Alliance for Affordable Internet Head of Digital Inclusion Program, Web Foundation - Confirmed
CCATLAT: Oscar Messano, President Confirmed
CITIC: Zolia Ramos, Executive Director, CITIC Ecuador Confirmed
COMTELCA: Allan Ruiz, Executive Secretary Confirmed
ITU: Ana Veneroso, Programme Coordinator, ITU Americas Regional Office Confirmed
12:00 - 12:15 Key elements to continue boosting and promoting the Rural Women’s ICT Alliance under the “new normality”
(Open debate among the panelists)
12:15 - 12:25 Question and answer session
12:25 - 12:30 Conclusions and closing remarks