Media Center



  June 10, 2003

The Organization of American States’ (OAS) General Assembly today elected new officers to a variety of inter-American institutions, during the final plenary session.

Nicaraguan jurist Mauricio Herdocia Sacasa was elected to the Rio de Janeiro-based Inter-American Juridical Committee, while Chilean Eduardo Vio Grossi won re-election.

The new members elected to the Washington-based Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) are Florentín Meléndez of El Salvador; Evelio Fernández Arévalo of Paraguay; Freddy Gutiérrez of Venezuela; and Paulo Sergio Pinheiro of Brazil.

New members were also elected to the Costa Rica-based Inter-American Court of Human Rights. They are Manuel Ventura Robles of Costa Rica; Delicia Medina Quiroga of Chile; Sergio García Ramírez of Mexico; and Diego García Sayán of Peru.

For the Justice Studies Center of the Americas, headquartered in Santiago, Chile, the newly-elected member is Jaime Arellano Quintana of Chile, while Lloyd Beresford Ellis of Jamaica and Douglass Cassel of the United States were re-elected.

Panamanian Alma Montenegro de Fletcher was re-elected by acclamation to membership on the OAS Administrative Tribunal.

Reference: GA-12