Media Center

Press Release

The OAS, the Trust for the Americas and the IADB announce the winners for the 2010 Corporate Citizen of the Americas (CCA) Award

  May 3, 2011

The Trust for the Americas with support from the Organization of American States (OAS) and the Inter American Development Bank is pleased to announce the winners for the 2010 Corporate Citizen of the Americas (CCA) Award.

The 2010 Award Selection Committee was comprised of Albert Ramdin, Assistant Secretary General of the OAS; Scarlett Alvarez Regional Managing Director of Investor & External Relations for AES Latin America & Africa; Steven Puig, the Vice President for the Private Sector and Non-Sovereign Guaranteed Operations at the Inter-American Development Bank; Michael McCullough, Director – Rule of Law Initiative: Latin America & the Caribbean at the American Bar Association; and Marcia Teixeira, Community Affairs and Internet Safety Lead for Microsoft Latin America.

This year the Selection Committee reviewed applications in three main Categories: Vulnerable Communities, Economic Opportunities and Education. The following companies and programs were chosen as winners in each category: In the category of Vulnerable Communities, Indra, the information technology multinational for its Head Mouse and Virtual Keyboard – Accessible technologies for handicapped individuals program. In the category of Economic Opportunities; CEMEX from Mexico for its Self-employment productivity centers that provides low income families assistance for construction or expansion of their homes; and in the Education category, DIAGEO for its regional program “Learning for Life”. This program gives underprivileged people a real chance to procure employment and to become active and respected contributors to their communities, having impacted hundreds of thousands as a result.

The three awards will be presented during the CSRAmericas, a yearly conference on Corporate Social Responsibility, organized by the Multilateral Investment Fund of the IDB Group, which will take place in Asunción, Paraguay, on May 24-26, 2011. The awards will be presented by high level IDB officials and members of the Board of Directors of the Trust for the Americas during a ceremony that will also be attended by corporate and civil society leaders from the Americas.

For more information about the award and the winners contact:
Ermithe Emily Charlemont
Corporate Citizen of the Americas Award Coordinator Trust for the Americas
1889 F Street; NW
Washington, DC 20006
Telephone: (+1) 202.458.3154

About the CCA Award:

The private sector is playing an increasingly important role in developing solutions to overcome poverty in communities throughout the Latin America and the Caribbean. The Corporate Citizen of the Americas Award (CCA) encourages this trend by formally recognizing a company that has initiated an innovative program which benefits the community in which it operates and can serve as a model to facilitate socially responsible practices and actions by other corporations. The CCA Award has been given annually by the Trust for the Americas in partnership with the Organization of American States for the last eight years. Past winners and finalists include Conoco Phillips; Chrysler, Ingenio Pantaleon, Grupo Financiero and FedEx, among others.

About the Trust for the Americas:

The Trust for the Americas is a 501(c)(3) not for profit organization affiliated with the Organization of American States (OAS) and was established in 1997 to promote private and public sector participation in projects that reflect the main goals of the OAS. The mission of the Trust is to execute capacity building programs, both for individuals and organizations. The Trust implements its programs through local partner organizations, with support from over 200 public and private sector partners in more than 20 countries throughout Latin America and the Caribbean.

Reference: E-648/11