Media Center

Press Release

OAS Secretary General and Paraguay’s Foreign Minister meet with Permanent Observers

  June 3, 2014

The Secretary General of the Organization of American States (OAS), José Miguel Insulza, and the Minister of Foreign Relations of Paraguay, Eladio Loizaga, met today with the Permanent Observers to the OAS, in the framework of the forty-fourth regular session of the OAS General Assembly in Asunción, Paraguay.

In his welcoming remarks at the luncheon, Secretary General Insulza underscored the important role played by the Permanent Observers in support of the Organization’s work on its four pillars: democracy, human rights, development, and multidimensional security.

In particular, he stressed their contributions to the Electoral Observation Missions, the Mission to Support the Peace Process in Colombia, the Universal Civil Identity Program in the Americas (PUICA), and the program of judicial facilitators, among others.

Foreign Minister Loizaga thanked the member countries for their support for the core topic selected by Paraguay for the session, “Development with Social Inclusion,” an area that required the work of all member countries and of the General Secretariat. Minster Loizaga emphasized that, in the preparations for the session, his country had received many good contributions to the questions on how to achieve sustainable development, and they would help in finding solutions to that challenge.

At the OAS there are currently 69 countries with the status of Permanent Observer, which was created in 1972. The following Observers attended the meeting: Austria, Belgium, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, the European Union, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, the Holy See, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, the Netherlands, the Philippines, Portugal, Qatar, Russia, South Korea, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, and the United Kingdom.

A gallery of photos of the event is available here.

For more information, please visit the OAS Website at

Reference: E-226/14