Media Center

Press Release

OAS Announces Recipients of Scholarships to Entrepreneurship Camp in South Korea

  June 5, 2015

The Organization of American States (OAS) and Kookmin University in South Korea today announced the names of the 8 students awarded scholarships for the Partnerships Program for Education and Training (PAEC) OAS-KGEB 2015. Students from Mexico, Venezuela, Panama, Grenada, Brazil, Costa Rica, Uruguay and Chile were selected to receive scholarships for the training for entrepreneurial leaders of the Americas, to be held in Seoul, the capital of South Korea between June 29 and August 14, 2015.

The scholarships cover 100% of tuition, accommodation, meals, transportation to Seoul, study materials and health insurance. According to the selection committee, Luis Plata from Mexico; Jesus Adolfo Rodriguez from Venezuela, Francy Paola Rojas from Panama and Tamara Catherine Prosper from Grenada will receive full scholarships, while Paula Vieira Schwade from Brazil, Luis Carlos Chacon from Costa Rica, Santiago Rodriguez from Uruguay and John Lavin León from Chile, will receive partial scholarships.

For this first edition of the program, around 350 applications from 29 OAS member countries were received. The Evaluation Committee of the PAEC OAS-KGEB was comprised of international representatives from distinguished institutions of higher education, the Instituto de Empresa of Spain, the Ana G. Mendez University System of Puerto Rico, the Young Americas Business Trust (YABT) and the Department of Human Development and Education of the OAS.

Kookmin University was the first private university in South Korea after its independence, and is recognized for its high level of performance in the areas of ​​innovation and internationalization.

Reference: E-193/15