Media Center

Press Release

OAS Delivers Firearms Marking Machine to Suriname

  May 2, 2013

The Assistant Secretary General of the Organization of American States (OAS), Albert Ramdin, presided over the donation today of firearms marking equipment to the government of Suriname.

The equipment will be used by the country’s Department of Justice and Police to combat the illicit trafficking of firearms. The initiative, which has been implemented in twenty five countries of the region, is part of the OAS’ efforts in the fight against crime.

According to Assistant Secretary General Ramdin, “Suriname represents an important bridge between the regions, being part of both Latin American and Caribbean groupings. The OAS is committed to supporting the efforts of the government of Suriname to fight crime,” said Ramdin.

The firearms marking machine was presented during a ceremony held at the Office of the Chief of Police with the participation of Commissioner Agnes Daniel, Acting Chief of Police.

The donation -funded by the government of the United States- is part of the program “Promoting Firearms Marking in Latin America and the Caribbean,” following the Inter-American Convention against Illicit Manufacturing of and Trafficking in Firearms, Ammunition, Explosives, and Other Related Materials (CIFTA), and seeks to strengthen national capabilities on matters of firearms marking.

Together with the firearms marking machine, the government of Suriname also received a computer to facilitate the process of maintaining data on marked firearms. The OAS is scheduled to conduct a training workshop with police officials, focusing on the use of firearms marking equipment.

The OAS has cooperated with the countries of the region with the objective of ensuring that Member States will have established policies and relevant legislation to mark firearms at the time of manufacturing and/or import.

To date, 25 countries in the region have signed a cooperation agreement with the OAS to participate in the program: Argentina, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Costa Rica, Dominica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Uruguay, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, The Bahamas, and Trinidad and Tobago.

For more information, please visit the OAS Website at

Reference: E-174/13