Media Center

Press Release

Permanent Executive Committee of CITEL Selected Three Candidates for Executive Secretary

  March 27, 2015

The Permanent Executive Committee of the Inter-American Telecommunication Commission (CITEL) chose in their recent meeting in Washington, DC candidates for the post of Executive Secretary of the Commission.

The thirteen countries that comprise the Committee chose Oscar León (Colombia), Salma Jalife (México) and Sócrates Martinez (Dominican Republic) as finalists. The OAS Secretary General shall appoint the new Executive Secretary.

The position becomes vacant in the second half of 2015, upon the retirement of the current Executive Secretary, Clovis Baptista.

For more information, please visit the OAS Website at

Reference: E-109/15