Media Center

Press Release

OAS Announces Winners of the 2021 Inter-American Award on Innovation in Effective Public Management

  November 17, 2021

The General Secretariat of the Organization of American States (OAS) announces the winners and Special Recognitions of the IX Edition of the “Inter-American Award on Innovation in Effective Public Management 2021,” which aims to recognize, identify and promote innovations in public management that are being implemented within the region to contribute to the strengthening of transparency, citizen participation, effectiveness, and inclusion in public institutions.

During this IX Edition, we received 58 Innovative Experiences from nine OAS member states: Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Dominican Republic and Uruguay.

The final results are as follows (See the minutes of Final Results-2021, available in Spanish):

  • Category: Open Government
    Innovative Experience “Compromisos” of the Government of the Autonomous City of Buenos Aires, Argentina.

The composition of the special jury was as follows:

  • Claudia Gonzalez, Specialist of the Department of Social Inclusion (DSI/OAS).
  • Franz Chevarría, Professor at the National University of San Antonio Abad del Cusco & Public Management Expert.
  • Hilary Anderson, Specialist of the Inter-American Commission of Women (CIM/OAS).
  • John Polga-Hecimovich, Professor at the Political Science Department of the United States Naval Academy
  • Marta Garnelo, Principal Advisor at Behavioral Insights Team (BIT).
  • Yacsire Cutler, Independent Expert on Projects.

Reference: E-101/21