Media Center

Press Release

OAS Begins First Edition of OAS Fellowship on Open Government in the Americas

  March 24, 2015

The Organization of American States (OAS) began on Monday the first edition of its OAS Fellowship on Open Government in the Americas, with a meeting that brought together 24 young leaders from 16 countries of the Americas in the U.S. cities of Osprey Point, Maryland and Washington, DC, to debate ideas, exchange experiences and work on projects designed to increase governmental transparency, participation and citizen collaboration.

During this first seminar, which will conclude on March 28, the participants – who come from public administration, the private sector and civil society – will define proposals for projects that they will carry out together in the next phase of the program. These initiatives will be focused on specific issues of transparency, access to information and multisectoral collaboration for innovative solutions leveraging the advantages of information and communication technologies (ITCs).

The 24 leaders were chosen by a selection committee made up of representatives from the Bank of Mexico, the Inter-American Development Bank, the Governance Lab of the University of New York, Agora Partnerships, and the Department for Effective Public Management of the OAS, from more than 650 candidates. The candidates were selected based on the innovative character of their ideas and their outstanding work in the field of open government.

The OAS Fellowship on Open Government in the Americas, organized by the Department for Effective Public Management of the OAS, seeks to create a network of young leaders who are agents of change in their countries and who contribute to promoting the principles of open government in the region. In this first stage, the program offers tools to strengthen the leadership of the participants and encourages them to work together toward the development of projects that address current challenges faced by our societies through the concept of open government.

Next, the participants will have a period of six months to develop their projects and present them to the Summit of Open Government that will be held in October 2015, in Mexico.

This initiative is supported by the Governments of Canada and Mexico, la Fundación Avina, the Carter Center, the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) and Hivos.

For more information, please visit the OAS Website at

Reference: E-101/15