Media Center

Press Release

OAS and Mexico Sign Agreement to Hold 47th General Assembly in Cancun on June 19-21

  May 17, 2017

The Organization of American States (OAS) and the Government of Mexico today signed the agreement to hold the 47th General Assembly on June 19 -21 in Cancun, the first time that the Latin American country will host the main annual meeting of the OAS.

"Strengthening Dialogue and Concerted Action for Prosperity" will be the central theme of the General Assembly to be held in the city in the Mexican state of Quintana Roo.

The Permanent Representative of Mexico to the OAS, Luis Alfonso de Alba, highlighted that this year's event will include changes in format designed to increase participation and make the debate more dynamic. "We have organized the discussion with a novel format that we hope will allow the Foreign Ministers to have much more interaction, a much more direct, focused, and frank dialogue to find solutions," he said. "It is through concertation that we are going to achieve unity of purpose, and the programs and actions that the Organization can develop," added the Mexican diplomat.

For his part, OAS Secretary General Luis Almagro expressed his belief that the new format will help to deepen the exchange among the member countries on the main issues of the regional agenda. “We can foresee that the 47th General Assembly will be very different from previous years, both in form and content. First of all because the government of Mexico has proposed a renewed format, one that is more conducive to the transparent and frank discussion that is definitely what we need in the hemispheric community”, Almagro said.

The General Assembly is the principal organ of the OAS and is composed of the delegations of all member states, usually led by the Ministers of Foreign Affairs. It is in charge for defining the policies and mandates of the OAS and the structure and functions of its organs. The Assembly Is responsible for the election of the officers of the decentralized and autonomous organs of the OAS such as the IACHR; the Inter-American Court of Human Rights; the Inter-American Juridical Committee, and the Center for Justice Studies of the Americas, among others.

More information available here.

Reference: E-043/17