Media Center

Press Advisory


OAS Permanent Council Receives Members of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights and Discusses Violence against Women in the Americas

  December 5, 2017

The Permanent Council of the Organization of American States (OAS) will hold two special meetings TOMORROW WEDNESDAY, December 6, 2017 in Simon Bolivar Hall at OAS headquarters in Washington DC. 

In the first meeting, at 13:00 EST (18:00 GMT), the Council will receive members of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR).

Next, at 14:30 EST (19:30 GMT) the Council will dialogue on the theme “Addressing Violence against Women in the Americas.” During the meeting the Council will receive a presentation by Peru’s Minister of Women and Vulnerable Populations and President of the Inter-American Commission of Women, Ana María Choquehuanca.

Please consult the agendas of the meetings here. Note that changes to the agendas may yet be made before the meetings.

The meetings will be broadcast live on the OAS Website and the OAS Facebook page.

Press Contact: Mónica Reyes (MReyes@oas.org)

WHAT: OAS Permanent Council Receives Members of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights and Discusses Violence against Women in the Americas

WHEN: Wednesday, December 6, 2017 at 13:00 EST (18:00 GMT) and 14:30 EST (19:30 GMT)

WHERE: Simon Bolívar Hall, Organization of American States17th Street & Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Reference: AVI-174/17