Media Center

Press Advisory


OAS Permanent Council to Commemorate International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women

  November 18, 2021

The Permanent Council of the Organization of American States (OAS) will hold two virtual meetings on Monday, November 22.

At 10:00 EST (15:00 GMT), the Council will hold a Special virtual meeting to Commemorate International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women, with the presentations by:

• The Vice President of Costa Rica, Epsy Campbell Barr;
• The Minister of Women, Genders and Diversity of Argentina, Elizabeth Gómez Alcorta;
• The President of the Inter-American Commission of Women and Minister of Women’s Affairs of the Dominican Republic, Mayra Jiménez; and
• The President of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights, Commissioner Antonia Urrejola Noguera.

Later, at 14:30 EST (19:30 GMT) the Council will hold a virtual regular meeting.

Please consult the agendas of the meetings here. Note that changes to the agenda may yet be made before the meeting.

The meetings will be broadcast live - with interpretation in Spanish, English, French and Portuguese- on the OAS Website, Facebook and YouTube

Press Contact: Mónica Reyes (MReyes@oas.org).

WHAT: OAS Permanent Council to Commemorate International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women

WHEN: Monday, November 22, at 10:00 EST (15:00 GMT) and 14:30 EST (19:30 GMT)

WHERE: OAS website, Facebook and YouTube

Reference: AVI-165/21