Media Center

Press Advisory

OAS Secretary General to Receive 2016 Mark Palmer Award

  September 20, 2016

The Secretary General of the Organization of American States (OAS), Luis Almagro, will receive the 2016 Mark Palmer Award on Thursday, September 22, at the headquarters of the United Nations "for his inspiring work to promote democracy and human rights as the head of the OAS and throughout his distinguished career."

The award to Secretary General Almagro will be presented by the non-governmental organization Freedom House, which is known for its work on behalf of political rights and civil liberties in the Americas and globally. Canadian diplomat Deborah Lyons will also receive this year's award.

The distinction is granted to diplomats or officials of international organizations who follow in the footsteps of Mark Palmer, a former U.S. ambassador who was deeply committed to the advancement of democracy and human rights and was a tireless advocate for civil society.

According to the selection committee, Secretary General Almagro "embodies the values, spirit, courage and unwavering commitment that defines the life of Mark."

WHAT: OAS Secretary General to Receive 2016 Mark Palmer Award

WHEN: Thursday September 22, 11:30 EDT (15:30 GMT)

WHERE: United Nations Headquarters, Conference Room # 6. New York, NY

Reference: AVI-131/16