Media Center

Press Advisory


OAS to Debate its Role in Combating Climate Change and Managing the Risk of Natural Disasters

  April 6, 2016

The Permanent Council and the Inter-American Council for Integral Development (CIDI) of the Organization of American States (OAS) will hold two joint meetings on Friday, April, 8, 2016, in Simon Bolivar Hall at the headquarters of the Organization in Washington, DC.

In the first meeting, at 10:00 EDT (14:00 GMT), representatives will analyze "disaster risk management and the OAS agenda for multilateral action to reduce disaster risks and build more resilient societies."

Please consult the agenda here. Note that changes to the agenda may yet be made before the meeting.

Afterwards, at 14:00 EDT (18:00 GMT) participants will hear a presentation on "Climate change: an Inter-American approach."

Please consult the agenda here.

The meetings will be broadcast live on the OAS Website.

Press Contact: Monica Reyes (MReyes@oas.org)

WHAT: Joint Sessions of the Permanent Council and the Inter-American Council for Integral Development (CIDI)

WHEN: Friday, April, 8, 2016, 10:00 EDT (14:00 GMT) and 14:00 EDT (18:00 GMT)

WHERE: Simon Bolívar Hall
Organization of American States
17th Street & Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006

Reference: AVI-047/16