Media Center

Press Advisory


OAS Permanent Council Commemorates Day of Remembrance for the Victims of Slavery and Debates Quotas to Finance the Regular Fund of the Organization

  March 22, 2018

The Permanent Council of the Organization of American States (OAS) will hold two meetings on Friday, March 23, in Simon Bolivar Hall at OAS headquarters in Washington D.C.

At 10:00 EDT (14:00 GMT), the Council will hold a special meeting to commemorate the “International Day of Remembrance for the Victims of Slavery and the Trans-Atlantic slave trade.”

Then, at 14:30 EDT (18:30 GMT), the Council will hold a regular meeting to discuss“Proposed modifications of the methodology for calculating the scale of quota assessments to finance the Regular Fund of the Organization” and the “Comprehensive strategy for the offices of the General Secretariat in the Member States.”

Please consult the agendas of the meetings here. Note that changes to the agendas may yet be made before the meetings.

The meetings will be broadcast live - with interpretation in Spanish, English, French and Portuguese- on the OAS Website and the OAS Facebook page.

Press Contact: Mónica Reyes (MReyes@oas.org)

WHAT: OAS Permanent Council meetings

WHEN: Friday, March 23, at 10:00 EDT (14:00 GMT) and 14:30 EDT (18:30 GMT)

WHERE: Simon Bolívar Hall
Organization of American States
17th Street & Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006

Reference: AVI-038/18