Media Center

Press Advisory


OAS Permanent Council to Receive Foreign Minister of Brazil and Makes Preparations for the Election of the Secretary General

  February 4, 2020

The Permanent Council of the Organization of American States will hold two meetings on Thursday, February 6, in Simon Bolívar Hall at OAS headquarters in Washington, D.C.

At 10:00 EST (15:00 GMT), a special meeting will be held to receive the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Brazil, Ernesto Henrique Fraga Araújo.

Then, at 11:00 EST (16:00 GMT) a regular meeting will be held to determine, among other topics, “the order in which candidates for the position of Secretary General will make their presentations, begin to take questions and make closing remarks, during the Special Session of the Permanent Council scheduled for February 12, 2020.”  This meeting will also commemorate the “Tenth anniversary of the earthquake of January 12, 2010 that occurred in Haiti.”

Please consult the agendas of the meetings here. Note that changes to the agendas may yet be made before the meeting.

The meetings will be broadcast live - with interpretation in Spanish, English, French and Portuguese- on the OAS Website and the OAS Facebook page.

Press Contact: Mónica Reyes (mreyes@oas.org)

WHAT: Two meetings of the OAS Permanent Council

WHEN: Thursday, February 6 at 10:00 EST (15:00 GMT) and 11:00 EST (16:00 GMT).

WHERE: Simon Bolivar Hall,
Organization of American States,
17th Street & Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20006.

Reference: AVI-017/20