Media Center

Press Advisory


Visit of Foreign Minister of Dominican Republic Begins Final Phase on Path to the OAS General Assembly

  February 17, 2016

Preparations for the 46th General Assembly of the Organization of American States (OAS), to be held in Santo Domingo from June 13 to 15 will enter their final phase on Friday with the signing of the agreement for the event and the presentation by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Dominican Republic of the theme for the Assembly.

The OAS Permanent Council will receive the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Dominican Republic, Andrés Navarro, on Friday February 19 at at 11:00 ET (16:00 GMT) at the headquarters of the Organization in Washington DC.

Prior to the Council meeting, Foreign Minister Navarro and the OAS Secretary General, Luis Almagro, will sign the agreement that signals the final phase of preparations for the Assembly in the Caribbean country.

Please consult the meeting’s agenda here. Note that changes to the agenda may yet be made before the meeting.

Next, the Council will hold a regular meeting at 14:00 EST (19:00 GMT) to receive the verbal report of the Electoral Observation Mission to Guatemala by the Chief of Mission Juan Pablo Corlazzoli, among other issues. The agenda for this meeting is available here.

Both meetings will be broadcast live on the OAS Website.

Contact: Monica Reyes (MReyes@oas.org)

WHAT: Meetings of the OAS Permanent Council

WHEN: Friday, February 19, 2016, at 11:00 ET (16:00 GMT) and 14:00 EST (19:00 GMT)

WHERE: Simon Bolívar Hall
Organization of American States
17th Street & Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006

Reference: AVI-014/16