Media Center


Trinidad and Tobago Assumes Chair of the OAS Permanent Council

  January 12, 2023

Trinidad and Tobago Assumes Chair of the OAS Permanent Council
Photo: OAS

The Permanent Representative of Trinidad and Tobago to the OAS, Anthony Phillips-Spencer, today assumed the Chair of the Permanent Council until March 31, 2023.

Ambassador Phillips-Spencer anticipated a robust agenda during his term, heading into the OAS General Assembly in June, and highlighted cooperation as a key to the success of the Council´s work. “I am confident that these three months and the months to follow and all the time we will spend here cooperating together will improve our capacity to respond to and fulfill the potential of this Organization.”

Meanwhile, the outgoing Chair of the Council, the Permanent Representative of Suriname, Jan Marten Willem Schalkwijk, noted the experience of his successor, and urged members to continue working together. “I did my best in the past three months It’s up to all of us to make the OAS better and more responsible and responsive to the needs of our member states,” he said.

The Permanent Representative of Panama, María del Carmen Roquebert, will serve as Vice Chair of the Council.

The Chair of the Permanent Council rotates every three months among the member states of the Organization, in alphabetical order. The Vice Chair also rotates every three months, but in reverse alphabetical order.

Reference: FNE-123043