Press Release

IACHR Grants Precautionary Measures in Favor of Silverio Portal Contreras in Cuba

July 22, 2020

   Related links

   Contact info

IACHR Press Office
[email protected]

   More on the IACHR
A+ A-

Washington, D.C. - The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) issued Resolution 39/2020 on July 18, 2020, to grant precautionary protection measures in favor of Silverio Portal Contreras, in the belief that he faces a serious, urgent risk of suffering irreparable damage to his rights in the context of his deprivation of liberty in Cuba.

After assessing the legal and factual allegations submitted by his representatives, the Commission considers that the information it has received shows prima facie that the rights to life and personal integrity of Silverio Portal Contreras are at risk. Consequently, in keeping with Article 25 of the IACHR’s Rules of Procedure, the Commission asks Cuba to take the following action: (a) adopt any measures necessary to protect the life and personal integrity of Silverio Portal Contreras; (b) come to an agreement with the beneficiary and his representatives regarding any measures that need to be taken; and (c) report on any steps taken to investigate the events that gave rise to the adoption of this precautionary measure, to prevent such events from happening again in the future. In keeping with Article 25 of its Rules of Procedure, the Commission asked the State of Cuba for information but has so far not received an answer.

The fact that precautionary measures have been granted and their adoption by the State do not entail a prejudgment concerning a potential violation of rights protected by the American Declaration of the Rights and Duties of Man and other applicable instruments.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for and to defend human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 173/20