Press Release

IACHR Unveils Shortlist for Interviewing for the Position of Special Rapporteur for Freedom of Expression

July 13, 2020

   Related links

   Contact info

IACHR Press Office

   More on the IACHR
A+ A-

Washington, D.C. - The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) has released the names of the five candidates who are to be interviewed on September 14–15, 2020, in the context of the recruitment process for the position of Special Rapporteur for Freedom of Expression.

During its 176th Period of Sessions, the Inter-American Commission shortlisted—out of the long list of finalists 
unveiled on April 30, 2020—the five individuals who are to advance to the interview round. In alphabetical order, the shortlisted individuals are: Ana Cristina Ruelas Serna, a Mexican citizen; Carlos Martín Lauría, a US citizen; Damián Miguel Loreti, an Argentine citizen; Paula Ligia Martins, a Brazilian citizen; and Pedro Vaca Villarreal, a Colombian citizen.
The IACHR thanks all participants for their involvement in this recruitment process and for sending their videos and agreeing to take part in the seminar held on June 29, 2020. The IACHR once again expresses its huge satisfaction with the interest that this process prompted from highly qualified individuals with abundant experience and knowledge in the field of freedom of expression. The Commission is also grateful for the more than 380 letters and observations it received from Member States of the Organization of American States (OAS) and from civil society in the context of the public consultation held over the period April 30–June 15, 2020, in keeping with Article 15.4 of its Rules of Procedure.

The procedure for the IACHR to recruit its Special Rapporteur for Freedom of Expression follows all applicable regulations. The Commission is to announce its new Special Rapporteur for Freedom of Expression on September 15, 2020, and the selected individual will be active in the position from October 6, 2020. According to Article 15 of the IACHR’s Rules of Procedure, the Rapporteur is appointed for three years that can be renewed for an additional year, unless the rapporteurship’s mandate ends before that period is completed.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for and to defend human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 164/20