Press Release

IACHR Announces Schedule of Public Hearings for its 152nd Extraordinary Period of Sessions

August 5, 2014

Washington, D.C. - The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) is announcing today the schedule of public hearings that will take place during the 152th Extraordinary Period of Sessions, which will be held in Mexico City from August 11 to 15, 2014, at the invitation of the Mexican State.

The hearings will take place during the mornings of August 12, 13 and 14, at the Palacio de Minería in Mexico City. Pursuant to Article 61 of its Rules of Procedure, the Commission has decided to convene hearings on its own initiative, on the general situation of human rights in Belice, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama. The extended calendar, with the list of convoked organizations, is available here (in Spanish).

Pursuant to Article 68 of the Rules of Procedure of the IACHR, the hearings shall be public. The public interested in assisting must register here. In addition, there will be Webcast service through the IACHR Webpage.

The Inter-American Commission holds several periods of sessions every year at its headquarters. Since the year 2006, three annual sessions are held, generally in March, July and October. In addition, the IACHR may hold extraordinary periods of sessions outside headquarters at the invitation of the respective States, such as those held in Guatemala in 2006 and in Paraguay in 2007. The Commission thanks the State of Mexico its invitation to hold sessions in that country. The IACHR expresses its willingness to conduct periods of sessions outside of its headquarters at the invitation of a country member of the Organization of American States (OAS).

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 81/14