Technical Advisory Groups

The Inter-American Committee on Ports (CIP) of the Organization of American States (OAS) has Technical Advisory Groups (TAGs), which can include representatives of the private sector.

The CIP, in its first meeting in October 1999, approved the creation of three TAGs: 1) Port Operations, Chaired by Mexico and also including Bolivia, Chile, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Mexico, Peru, Santa Lucia, Suriname, the United States, and Uruguay; 2) Port Security, Chaired by the United States and also including Argentina, Barbados, Colombia, Canada, Chile, Guatemala, Jamaica, Mexico, Peru, and Uruguay; and 3) Navigation Safety and Environmental Protection, Chaired by Argentina and also including Brazil, Chile, Mexico, Panama, and the United States.