Department of Electoral Cooperation and Observation
jQuery Superfish dropdown menu example with full touch support for Android, iOS and Windows 8.
Antigua and Barbuda - General Election, June 12, 2014
Political System
Antigua and Barbuda is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary system of government based on the Westminster model. Since 1981, the country has been an independent sovereign state, but remains a member of the British Commonwealth and, thus, the Queen of Great Britain Elizabeth II is the nominal Head of State. She is represented by the Governor-General Louisse Lake-Tack.

Executive Branch
The Head of the Government is Prime Minister Winston Baldwin Spencer, who was first elected in 2004 and reelected in 2009. Following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition is appointed Prime Minister by the Governor-General. The Council of Ministers is appointed by the Governor-General on the advice of the Prime Minister.

Legislative Branch
Antigua and Barbuda operates with a bicameral Parliament, with a lower house, the House of Representatives, and an upper house, the Senate. The House of Representatives is composed of 17 members, each of whom is elected from a single-member constituency on a simple majority first-past-the-post basis to serve five-year terms. Sixteen constituencies are on the island of Antigua and one is on Barbuda, the minimum established by the Constitution. The leader of the party securing the majority of seats in Parliament is named Prime Minister by the Governor-General. The leader of the party winning the next largest bloc of seats is named leader of the Opposition. The Senate also has 17 seats and its members are appointed by the Governor- General. Ten members are appointed on the advice of the Prime Minister, four on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition, one on the advice of the Barbuda Council, one resident of Barbuda on the advice of the Prime Minister, and one at the Governor-General’s discretion.

Judicial Branch
The Antigua and Barbuda legal system is based on English common law. It is comprised of an Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court, the Magistrates' Courts, and a member of the Caribbean Court of Justice. The Supreme Court, consisting in a High Court of Justice and a Court of Appeal, is based in Saint Lucia and two of its judges are residents of the islands and preside over the Court of Summary Jurisdiction.