94th REGULAR SESSION February 18-22, 2019 O/19) Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

OAS/Ser. Q CJI/RES. 249 (XCIV-

21 February 2019 Original: Spanish

CJI/RES. 249 (XCIV-O/19)

GUIDE ON THE LAW APPLICABLE TO INTERNATIONAL COMMERCIAL CONTRACTS IN THE AMERICAS

THE INTER-AMERICAN JURIDICAL COMMITTEE,

MINDFUL that one of the purposes of the Inter-American Juridical Committee is to promote the progressive development and codification of international law and to examine the possibility of harmonizing the legislation of the countries of the Americas, where appropriate;

RECALLING that the OAS approved the Inter-American Convention on the Law Applicable to International Contracts in 1994 and that in 2015 The Hague Conference on Private International Law took said Convention into account in drawing up the Hague Principles on Choice of Law in International Commercial Contracts;

BEARING IN MIND that, nevertheless, there are still disparities in the law applicable to international commercial contracts in the countries of the Americas; and

RECOGNIZING the importance of having a Guide on the law applicable to international commercial contracts in the Americas to advance important aspects in this area in order to promote legal harmonization in the region and, as a result, stimulate economic integration, growth, and development in the hemisphere,

RESOLVES:

- 1. To approve the Guide on the Law Applicable to International Commercial Contracts in the Americas (CJI/doc.577/19 rev. l), attached hereto.
- 2. To thank the Rapporteur for this topic, Dr. José Antonio Moreno Rodríguez, for the significant effort he put into developing this issue and in preparing the Guide.
- 3. To request the Rapporteur for this topic to prepare, with support from the Department of International Law, a proposal for disseminating the Guide as widely as possible among the various stakeholders.
- 4. To transmit this resolution and the attached Guide to the policy-making bodies of the Organization for due attention and consideration.

This resolution was unanimously approved at the regular session held on February 21, 2019, by the following members: Drs. Mariana Salazar Albornoz, Luis García-Corrochano Moyano, José Antonio Moreno Rodríguez, George Rodrigo Bandeira Galindo, Ruth Stella Correa Palacio, Carlos Alberto Mata Prates, Milenko Bertrand-Galindo Arriagada, Miguel A. Espeche-Gil, and Íñigo Salvador Crespo.