Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser

August 2018

The Inter-American Juridical Committee elects new authorities

The Inter-American Juridical Committee elects new authorities

The Inter-American Juridical Committee has elected Dr. Ruth Stella Correa Palacio, from Colombia, as the new President of the body.

Dr. Ruth Correa Palacio, a lawyer by profession, is engaged in the advisory and litigation fields in public law and arbitration. One of the national arbitrators of the Center for Arbitration and Settlement of the Bogotá Chamber of Commerce, she is also a member of the Colombian National Group before the The Hague Permanent Arbitration Court. A lecturer in the main universities of Colombia since 1991 in the area of Public Law and on topics related to contracts and administrative law, she has published many studies in these two fields. She has also been a member of the drafting commission of the Colombian Administrative Procedures Code and of the Contentious-Administrative Code. In addition, she has held positions in the Judiciary between 1983 and 2012. Dr Correa was also a member of the Colombian State Council, this being the High Court in charge of ruling as a court of last resort in cases involving contractual and extra-contractual responsibility and in appeals of annulment regarding decisions ruled in arbitration processes.

She held the positions of Deputy Attorney General before the State Council and Minister of Justice and Law in Colombia, from July 2012 to September 2013. Dr. Ruth Correa joined the OAS Juridical Committee in 2015, and has been reelected by the General Assembly of the Organization for the period 2019-2022.  

In turn, Peruvian lawyer Dr. Luis García-Corrochano Moyano has been elected Vice-President of the CJI. Dr. García-Corrochano Moyano is currently the Dean of the Faculty of Law at the Peruvian University of Applied Sciences, and has a solid lecturing experience in the area of Public International Law in his country's teaching institutions, including the Diplomatic Academy of Peru, as well as in institutions abroad. The author of collective Works and books on International Law, he has written many articles in specialized magazines. In addition, he is arbitrator at the Center of Arbitration of the Chamber of Commerce in Lima, in addition to being a member of several institutions, among them the Instituto Hispano-Luso-Americano de Derecho Internacional, the Spanish Association of Professors of International Law and International Relations, the Association International de Droit de la Mer and the American Association of Private International Law. Dr. Luis García-Corrochano Moyano has been a member of the Inter-American Juridical Committee since January 1st, 2018, for a mandate of four years.  

The election of Dr. Ruth Correa is a historical landmark, as it is the first time ever that the members of this consultative body of the Organization in the juridical area have elected a woman as President. The mandates of the new authorities shall run for two years. Dr. Correa has succeeded Dr. Hernán Salinas, while Dr. García-Corrochano is replacing Dr. Joel Hernández as Vice-President.  

The main mission of the CJI is the progressive development and codification of international law, and the Committee is devoted to the study of juridical problems related to the integration of the developing countries of the Western Hemisphere. The Committee is also engaged in attaining uniformity in the legislation of Member States.  

For further information on this matter, please contact the Department of International Law of the OAS – Technical Secretariat of the Inter-American Juridical Committee +1 202 370 0743. 

» Additional information on recent developments in the Committee's work can be seen on this link

» For additional information about the Department, please visit our Website


Suscribe | Unsubscribe | Suggestions | Archive | DIL Site | OAS Site | Contact Us

Unless otherwise indicated, the materials published on this website, including opinions expressed therein, are the responsibility of the individual authors/compilers and not those of the Organization of American States (OAS), or its Member States.

2018 Department of International Law, Organization of American States. All rights reserved.
19th St. & Constitution Ave. NW, Washington DC 20006 USA