Appendix 3:

Revised Sections of IABIN Rules of Procedure

The following revisions to the IABIN Rules of Procedure were adopted at the 2nd IABIN Council Meeting, January 2002. Deleted text is indicated in bold strikethrough; added text in indicated in *bold italics*. Only the modified sections of the Rules are included here.

C-5. Officers of the Council

The Council will have a Chair and a Vice Chair.

The Chair shall preside over the Council and is responsible for the overall direction of IABIN and the proper implementation of these Rules of Procedure.

The Vice-Chair shall assist the Chair as requested and shall act for the Chair in his/her absence at Council meetings.

Officers are elected for three-year terms *a term of three regular IABIN Council Meetings* by a 2/3 vote of the voting Council members.

D-2. Membership

The Executive Committee will consist of nine voting members, including:

- The Council Chair;
- The Council Vice-Chair; and
- Seven members elected at large according to the following criteria:
- Governmental geographical representation;
- Inclusion of up to two non-governmental representatives; and
- Interest and commitment.

An OAS representative and the Executive Secretary of the IABIN Hub shall be ex officio members of the Executive Committee, ex officio, with voice but no vote.

The Chair of the IABIN Council shall be the Chair of the Executive Committee.

Members of the Executive Committee shall have three-year terms serve for a term of three regular IABIN Council *Meetings*, staggered on a rotational basis with some members changing each year at each regular Council *Meeting*.