Media Center

Press Release

OAS Donates Firearms Marking Machine to the Dominican Republic

  April 24, 2014

The Organization of American States (OAS) today donated –for the second time- to the Government of Dominican Republic a firearms marking machine to be used by the security forces in the Caribbean country in order to strengthen their capacity to combat the illegal trafficking of such weapons.

The delivery of the firearms marking machine, along with a laptop and other accessories, took place at the headquarters of the Ministry of Interior and Police of the country, in a ceremony attended by the Minister of Interior and Police of the Dominican Republic, José Ramón Fadul; the Deputy Minister for the Management of Arms, General Ricardo Rosa Chupany; and the Representative of the OAS in the Dominican Republic, Araceli Azuara.

The donation is part of the project "Promoting Firearms Marking in Latin America and the Caribbean," which aims to strengthen the capacity of states in the marking and tracing of firearms and is being implemented within the framework of the Inter-American Convention Against the Illicit Manufacturing of and Trafficking in Firearms, Ammunition, Explosives, and Other Related Materials (CIFTA). The grant was funded by the United States government.

Simultaneously, a team from the OAS Department of Public Security held a two-day training workshop in the use of the equipment for Ministry of Interior and Police staff. In addition, information on regional standards for marking and maintaining information on the marking of arms was presented.

The OAS, through the project "Promoting the Marking of Firearms in Latin America and the Caribbean," has among its primary goals to help member states to effectively and efficiently respond to the increasing levels of crime and violence caused by the illicit trafficking of firearms.

To date, 25 countries in the region have signed a cooperation agreement with the OAS and have joined the project: Argentina, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, The Bahamas, Belize, Costa Rica, Dominica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Uruguay, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago.

A gallery of photos of the event is available here.

For more information, please visit the OAS Website at

Reference: E-160/14