Media Center

Press Advisory


Inaugural Meeting of International Council for Environmental Sustainability takes place at OAS

  December 5, 2012

The first meeting of the International Advisory Council for the Advancement of Justice, Governance and Law for Environmental Sustainability will take place on Friday, December 7th, under the auspices of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the Organization of American States (OAS).

The Council, composed of senior legal and environmental authorities and experts from around the world, will act as a global voice for environmental sustainability, giving guidance to UNEP, the OAS and other organizations on the implementation of the Rio +20 Declaration on Justice, Governance and Law for Environmental Sustainability.

The OAS will host an open session from 15:00 to 17:00 EST (20:00–22:00 GMT) to establish a dialogue on how best to improve global environmental governance. The session will be presented by Sherry Tross, Executive Secretary for Integral Development of the OAS, and Bakary Kante, Director of the UNEP Division of Environmental Law and Conventions, and will be attended by members of the Council. The agenda of the event and the authorities who will attend are available here.

From 18:00-20:00 (23:00-01:00 GMT) the Secretary General of the OAS, José Miguel Insulza will host an evening reception to mark the inauguration of the Council and launch the first compendium on Principles of Caribbean Environmental Law, by Justice Winston Anderson of the Caribbean Court of Justice.

Members of the Council and other authorities will be available to meet with the press at 14:30 EST (19:30 GMT) in the Leo Rowe Room of the Main Building of the OAS. Interview requests should be sent beforehand to oaspress@oas.org

WHAT: First Meeting of International Advisory Council for Environmental Sustainability and Launch of the book “Principles of Caribbean Environmental Law”

WHEN: December 7, 2012 at 15:00 EST (20:00 GMT) and 18:00 EST (23:00 GMT)

WHERE: Organization of American States
17th Street & Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006

Reference: AVI-247/12