Media Center

Press Advisory


Permanent Council Presents OAS 70th Anniversary commemoration; receives presentations by candidates to the Inter-American Court of Human Rights; and meets to Discuss Humanitarian Situation in Venezuela

  April 27, 2018

The Permanent Council of the Organization of American States (OAS) will hold three special meetings on Monday, April 30, in the Simon Bolivar Hall at OAS headquarters in Washington, DC.

At 9:30 EDT (13:30 GMT), the Permanent Council will launch the commemoration of the 70th anniversary of the Organization of American States.

At 10:30 EDT (14:30 GMT), the Council will receive the presentations by the candidates for membership of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights for the 2019-2024 term.

At 15:00 EDT (19:00 GMT), the Council will meet at the request of the delegations of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, and the United States to discuss “The humanitarian situation being experienced by the Venezuelan people, and its impact on the countries of the region.”

Please consult the agendas of the meetings here. Note that changes to the agendas may yet be made before the meetings.

The meetings will be broadcast live - with interpretation in Spanish, English, French and Portuguese- on the OAS Website and the OAS Facebook page.

Press Contact: Mónica Reyes (MReyes@oas.org)

WHAT: OAS Permanent Council meetings

WHEN: Monday, April 30 at 9:30 EDT (13:30 GMT), EDT 10:30 (14:30 GMT) and 15:00 EDT  (19:00 GMT)

WHERE: Simon Bolívar Hall, Organization of American States17th Street & Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Reference: AVI-048/18