Media Center

Press Advisory


OAS Drug Commission to Analyze Progress in Regional Cooperation

  April 21, 2017

The Inter-American Drug Abuse Control Commission (CICAD) of the Organization of American States (OAS) will discuss drug policies at the global, regional and local levels during its sixty-first session from April 24 to 26, at the headquarters of the hemispheric Organization in Washington, DC.

The event will be inaugurated on Monday, April 24 at 9:00 am EDT (13:00 GMT) by OAS Assistant Secretary General Nestor Mendez; the Permanent Representative of The Bahamasto the OAS, Elliston Rahming, whose country holds the Chair Pro-tempore of CICAD; the OAS Secretary for Multidimensional Security, Claudia Paz y Paz; and the Executive Secretary of the CICAD, Adam Namm.

On Monday, April 24, at 12:00 EDT (16:00 GMT) the representatives of member states will hear concerns and answer questions from civil society organizations.

The CICAD semi-annual meeting will discuss the regional implementation of the recommendations of the United Nations Special General Assembly on the World Drug Problem, UNGASS 2016. In addition, there will be a debate on the public health impacts of the opioids crisis; specialized intelligence training to address the drug problem in the Hemisphere; early warning systems; and the transformation of national drug policies into local policies.

Please consult the agenda of the meeting here. Note that changes to the agenda may yet be made before the meetings.

The meeting with civil society will be broadcast live on the OAS Website

Press Contact: Sandino Martínez (PSMartinez@oas.org)

WHAT:OAS Drug Commission to Analyze Progress in Regional Cooperation

WHEN: Monday April 24, at 9:00 AM EDT (13:00 GMT)

WHERE: Padilha Vidal Room
Organization of American States
1889 F Street. NW
Washington, D.C 20006

Reference: AVI-045/17