Media Center

Press Advisory


OAS Participates in Harvard University Panel of Experts on Music Education Policies

  February 8, 2011

The Organization of American States (OAS), through its Department of Cultural Affairs, will participate this Thursday, February 10, 2011, in a panel of experts at Harvard University on music education policies currently being implemented in the region by multinational organizations.

Titled, “Social Development Through Music Education: The Role of Multinational Organizations,” the event will offer the opportunity to learn about the music education policies and initiatives currently implemented by the OAS, the World Bank, the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB), and the Andean Development Corporation (CAF), whose representatives on the panel will share their mission and vision for the development of children and youth in the hemisphere through innovative music education programs.

The OAS’s Music Program Coordinator, Mariano Vales, will participate in the dialogue, to be held at 17:30 EST (22:30 GMT) in the South Building of Harvard University’s Center for Government and International Studies.

For more information on the panel, contact Enrique Marquez at: enm753@mail.harvard.edu or visit http://www.drclas.harvard.edu/events/venezuelan_legacy_series_music
.

For more information on the OAS’s Music Program, visit: :http://www.museum.oas.org/en/oasis/

WHAT: The OAS participates in panel of experts on music education policies

WHEN: Thursday, February 10, 2011, 17:30 – 19:30 EST (22:30 – 0:30 GMT)

WHERE: South Building, Center for Government and International Studies (CGIS South)
Tsai Auditorium S-010, 1730 Cambridge Street, Cambridge

Reference: AVI-026/11