Media Center


Canada Assumes Chair of the OAS Permanent Council

  October 4, 2017

Canada Assumes Chair of the OAS Permanent Council
Photo: OAS

The Permanent Representative of Canada to the Organization of American States (OAS), Jennifer May Loten, today assumed the Chair of the Permanent Council of the Organization, at a ceremony held at the hemispheric Organization's headquarters in Washington, DC.

Ambassador Loten appreciated the efforts of her predecessor, Ambassador José Luiz Machado e Costa of Brazil, and highlighted in particular his leadership and efforts to preserve the resources of the Organization. She also stressed the importance for Canada, and for her personally, of exercising this role during the next quarter.

“It is a great honor for Canada to take on this responsibility this year, our 150th anniversary. Also this is the beginning of Women’s History Month and personally for me as Canada´s first female Permanent Representative to the OAS it’s a tremendous honor to be bringing some gender balance to the Chairmanship of the Permanent Council," she said.

For his part, Ambassador Machado e Costa, outgoing Chair, thanked Member States and the OAS General Secretariat for the support received during his term and described his efforts during the last three months to make more efficient use of the resources of the Organization. "During my tenure as Chair we were able to practice austerity and broad consultation and transparency through the mechanism of working with the regional coordinators which was very useful in achieving our objectives."

The Permanent Council’s statutes establish that the chairmanship be exercised by each of the Permanent Representatives in turn, following the alphabetic order in Spanish of the names of their respective countries, and the office of Vice-Chair, by identical standards, following reverse alphabetical order. Canada will hold the presidency until December 2017. Guatemala will exercise the vice-chairmanship of the Council.

Reference: FNE-32503