Press Release

IACHR Condemns the Violent Death of Bolivia’s Vice Minister

September 9, 2016

   Contact info

María Isabel Rivero
IACHR Press and Communication Office
Tel: +1 (202) 370-9001

   More on the IACHR
A+ A-

Washington, D.C – The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (ICHR) condemns the violent death of the Vice-Minister for Police and National Regime of Bolivia, Rodolfo Illanes Alvarado. The IACHR supports President Evo Morales' announcement concerning the need for deep investigation of the events in order to establish responsibilities and penalties according to the law.

According to publicly available information, the Vice-Minister Rodolfo Illanes was kidnapped and beaten to death on August 25, 2016, as he tried to mediate and facilitate a dialogue for the resolution of a miners’ conflict in the city of Panduro. The IACHR takes note of the progress regarding the investigation as well as the official information concerning the pre-trial detention of nine persons in connection to the events. Moreover, the Inter-American Commission urges to reject any form of violence and to find a resolution to the conflict through a peaceful dialogue and within strict respect of human rights.

The IACHR also condemns the death of four miners and the injuries suffered by people who were protesting, local population and police officers in the context of the violent protest by members of mining cooperatives. The information received indicates that the Bolivian Attorney General also investigates the circumstances under which the miners’ death took place.

The IACHR calls on the State to continue with these investigations with due diligence and respecting due process in order to determine responsibilities and make justice.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 130/16